State and National Awards Reception: Biomedical Engineering Recipients

Pictured above: Department Head, Raj Rao, with Biomedical Engineering students and mentors.

University of Arkansas’ State and National Awards Reception is held yearly at the end of the spring semester and commemorates the academic achievements of students in various departments. The Biomedical Engineering Department claimed several notable awards for both students and the department overall. Below is a list of the recipients and their mentors.

  • The Biomedical Engineering Department won the 2019 Departmental Gold Medal, received by Department Head, Raj Rao.
  • Harrison Dean won the Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship from the American Heart Association, mentored by Heather Walker.
  • Alaa Abdelgawad was recognized for her Student Travel Award from the Biomedical Engineering Society, mentored by Narasimhan Rajaram.
  • Smit Patel was awarded the Hagan Scholarship, mentored by Kartik Balachandran and Charles Robinson.
  • Mason Buele was recognized as an Outstanding Chapter officer by the National Biomedical Honor Society, mentored by Michelle Kim.
  • Various students won the National Science Foundation Research Experience for Undergraduates, including Olga Brazhkina, Jarrod Eisma, Jessica Orton, Jack West, and Lucy Woodbury. They were mentored by Morten Jensen, Connie Lamm, Jamie Hestekin, Bryan Hill, and Kyle Quinn, respectively.

  • Jessica Orton was also awarded the Student Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF), mentored by Jamie Hestekin.
  • Harrison Dean was also recognized for his acceptance into Texas A&M College of Medicine Summer Research Program, mentored by Heather Walker.
  • Samia Ismail was awarded the Truman Scholarship, mentored by Nicole Clowney.
  • Smit Patel was also recognized for his acceptance into the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences Summer Undergraduate Research Program, mentored by Kartik Balachandran.
  • Andre Figueroa won the Upstate Medical University Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship, also mentored by Kartik Balachandran.
  • Alaa Abdelgawad was also awarded the UT Health San Antonio Summer Research Fellowship, mentored by Narasimhan Rajaram.
  • Gianna Busch was recognized for her acceptance at Vanderbilt Biophotonics Center Summer Research Program, mentored by Kyle Quinn.